Forty-two members of the sixth National Council representing various political parties were on Tuesday sworn in at Parliament by Chief Justice Peter Shivute to begin their five-year term of office that will run until 2025. The National Council is the upper chamber of the National Assembly. It receives and considers bills referred to it in terms of Article 75(1) and Article 75(2) of the Namibian Constitution. Nampa reports that the members also voted for Swapo’s Kavango West regional councillor Lukas Muha as the chairperson of the NC, deputised by a fellow Swapo councillor, Victoria Kauma from Kavango East. In his acceptance speech, Muha urged his fellow members to work together for a common purpose – to deliver prosperity to the people of Namibia who voted for them despite their political affiliation.